Pacific Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers 1 (PACRAO) 2 2013-2014 MEMBERS' 88th ANNUAL BUSINESS MEETING 3 **MINUTES** 4 Wednesday, November 12, 2014 5 Portland Hilton & Executive Tower, Portland, Oregon 6 7 8 2013-2014 President, Todd McCollum 9 The meeting was called to order at 10:50 a.m. Christine Kerlin served as parliamentarian. Todd 10 welcomed all in attendance. There were 184 attending. 11 12 Secretary, Desi Nielsen Minutes for the 2012-2013 Annual Business Meeting (October 30, 2013) were presented. (Copies were 13 14 available for those in attendance and posted on the PACRAO website prior to the conference.) 15 Opportunity was given to the floor for revisions and corrections. Hearing none, the meeting was turned 16 over to Todd McCollum for approval of the minutes. A motion was made to approve the minutes and 17 seconded. The minutes were unanimously approved. 18 19 Vice President for Professional Development, Celeste Nguyen 20 Celeste reported that two editions of the PACRAO Review were published during the year which are 21 posted to the PACRAO website for review. 22 23 It was noted that this is the second year of the PACRAO Pals program. There were 12 pairings of 24 mentees and mentors at the conference. Participants were thanked for their involvement. 25 26 This year PACRAO awarded 6 participation grants which covered the registration fees for the 27 conference. 28 29 Celeste also reported that a first-time attendee orientation was held at the beginning of the conference. 30 31 Vice President for Membership, Marianne Stickel 32 In March there was a membership confirmation audit of individual members. To date, there are 205 33 paid institutional memberships, which represent 1825 individual members. The 1825, a 12% increase from last year, includes 1675 renewals and 150 new memberships. 54 past member institutions have 34 35 not yet renewed. Marianne recommended that membership opportunities should be included with the 36 registration form for the annual meeting. 37 President, Todd McCollum 38 39 There was a change in board membership last year. Diana Thompson, the previous Vice President for 40 Publications and Information Technology, changed jobs at her institution, Ockanagan College, and was 41 no longer able to serve. Jim Bouse, University of Oregon, will serve the remainder of the term. 42 43 Vice President of Publications and Information Technology, Jim Bouse 44 Jim has been assisting with preparation for the conference working on registration and website updates.

Treasurer, Paul Lampano

45 46 47 Copies of the actual budget were distributed in conference registration bags and to those in attendance 48 for review. Paul reported that PACRAO is in good fiscal standing and noted an increase in job postings 49 this year, a source of additional revenue. Association income exceeded expenses.

50 51

52

53

54

55

President, Todd McCollum

The two-person Audit Committee is charged with annually reviewing the association's finances and fiscal practices. This year's committee was comprised of Brad Tomhave, University of Puget Sound, serving as chair and Dennis Geyer, California State University, Sacramento, serving as secretary. For the upcoming year, Dennis Geyer will serve as chair and a new secretary will be appointed by the Nominations and Elections Committee for a two-year term.

565758

59

60

61 62

Audit Committee Chair, Brad Tomhave

Copies of the Audit Committee Report was supplied to the membership for review. The committee was formed to review financial documents and practices, and make recommendations for improving association fiscal practices. They met in February with the outgoing PACRAO Treasurer, Jan McCuen, and Past President, Sue Eveland. The report includes recommendations, discussion questions as well as the corrective measures. The Audit Committee reported to the membership that PACRAO's financial operations are being responsibly handled and reported.

64 65 66

68

63

Past President, Sue Eveland

67 Upcoming PACRAO Conferences will be as follows:

2015 Anaheim, California Disneyland Hotel

69 2016 Las Vegas, Nevada Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino

2017 Spokane, Washington Grand Hotel

70 71 72

73

Sue introduced the members of the 2013-2014 Nominations and Elections Committee elected by the membership: Julia Pomerank as Chair, Rebecca Mathern, Wes Holland, Kristin Benson, Chris Hart, Kate Jakeway Kelly, Liz Johnson, Paul Seegert. Alternates are Stuart Lau, Fred Jacklin, Marc Booker.

747576

- Sue presented the slate of nominees for the 2014-2015 officers:
- 77 President Elect, Ann Gillen
- 78 Vice-President for Membership, Mickey Reynolds
- 79 Vice-President for Professional Development, Marc Booker
- 80 Secretary, Jerri Weston

81 82

83

President Todd McCollum entertained a motion to accept the slate of nominees for officers as presented. The motion was made and seconded. The motion was unanimously approved and Todd congratulated and welcomed the new officers.

848586

87

88

New Business

Sue noted that the membership was notified of proposed bylaw changes on September 30th. Copies of the proposed changes were distributed to those in attendance and posted to the website. Todd invited Sue to present the changes.

899091

92

93

94

Sue proposed bylaw amendments to Article VI, Sections 4 and 8, which modifies language to include the Diversity Development Advocate and Business Partner Liaison among those attending both the Summer and Winter Executive Board meetings. Sue presented the motion to President Todd McCollum. Todd asked for a motion to approve the proposed changes to the bylaws. The motion was made from the floor and seconded. The motion was approved.

95 96

97 Todd thanked those who were leaving the board: Desi Nielsen, Celeste Nguyen, Marianne Stickel, and Sue Eveland. 98 99 100 **Closing Comments, President Todd McCollum** Todd thanked all those who helped make the conference a success and for the opportunity to serve as 101 102 President for the past year. Todd presented the president's gavel to Heather Chermak, PACRAO's 2013-2014 President. 103 104 105 2014- 2015 President, Heather Chermak Heather shared her goals and priorities for the upcoming year. As the climate of education changes she 106 107 would like PACRAO to continue to move forward. It is her hope that the Executive Board will refine 108 PACRAO's mission. 109 110 Heather introduced the Executive Board for the 2014-2015 year: Todd McCollum Past President 111 112 **Heather Chermak** President 113 Ann Gillen President-Elect Vice President for Publications and Information Technology 114 Jim Bouse 115 Paul Lampano 116 **Ruth Garay Diversity Development Advocate** 117 Mickey Reynolds Vice President for Membership **Business Partner Liaison** 118 **Chris Sweet** 119 Ryan Burton **Program Committee Chair** 120 Soraira Urquiza Local Arrangements Committee Chair 121 **Introduction of 2015 Conference, Soraira Urquiza** 122 The theme for the 2015 conference next year will be "Pursuing New Frontiers." Soraira presented a 123 124 video and skit to introduce the theme. Drawings were held for a gift basket and conference registration. The conference registration was won by Dararath Charoonsophonsak, Ilisagvik College. 125 126 127 President Heather Chermak thanked all for attending and adjourned the meeting. 128 129 Meeting adjourned at 11:13 a.m 130 131 Respectfully submitted, 132 Desi Nielsen, PACRAO Secretary